My Favourite Old Disney PC games!

Hello all,

So growing up, I didn’t have many friends. As a result I was always at home playing games on the PC. I’ve had PC in my life since I was born, granted it was slow and didn’t have much room but I loved it all the same. I played a lot of educational games but along with that was Disney games! We didn’t have much money when I was growing up so a lot of the games we got were bootleg DOS games. Regardless, I loved them all the same!

So here I wanted to take a trip down memory lane and share some of those games I used to play!

Aladdin (SEGA) Game for PC

I loved Aladdin when I was a little girl, I used to watch the movie twice a day! So when I learnt of a game for the PC I was amazed! The graphics looked awesome and that 8bit music was to die for! The game used to crash a little bit on me but I played it non the less. I don’t think I ever finished it, but loved it!

aladdin_1

The game is a simple side scroller – left and right controls, space to jump and alt to use your weapon. There’s no time limit on the game but very view health, you start with two lives and can gain more throughout the game. There’s chances to win extra lives and also mini-games that feature abu!

You can collect apples and gems to increase your score as you save Princess Jasmine. Collect Genie items to save your location and increase your winnings at Genie’s lottery!

screenshot-3

The game covered a lot and there’s little features hidden throughout the game from other character references and hidden mickeys!

You can play it online here for free!

Beauty and the Beast – Be Our Guest (DOS Game)

One of my favourite games was this beautiful DOS game featuring the characters and music from Beauty and the Beast! It’s time to help the household get ready for Belle and the Beast to fall in love!

The game is in the same 16bit style, with no voices but wonderful nostalgic 8bit music from Gaston to Be Our Guest! The game features the famous stain glass windows that lead you to each game – 5 in total! The game also has two levels of difficulty – Easy and Hard

disneys-beauty-and-the-beast_4

disneys-beauty-and-the-beast_2

You’re guided by Chip who tells you about the game, then you can pick which game to start with. Either help Cogworth with the music in this symbol remembering game, you can help Mrs Potts bake a cake in this task game where you help get the eggs into the bowl. You can help Plumette clean the gardens of snow and collect flowers for the ball in the search game, assist Lumiere and finally you can help the Wardrobe wash the cloth to make Belles dress in a colour matching game.

disneys-beauty-and-the-beast_101

Each game as a few levels to keep you going, some games are harder than others but once you’ve completed the game, Belle and the Beast fall in love!

No controls are needed except your mouse!

You can play the game here for free!

Lion King (SEGA) for PC

The next game on this list is rather popular one and that is the Lion King game for the SEGA or DOS on PC. This game is the same as the Aladdin game, a side scroller with keyboard controls. The game takes you from Simba’s youth through to his adulthood were he battles scar.

Playing this game, it always crashed on me while I played so I didn’t get very far! Annoyingly. But I’m able to play the whole thing now as an adult. Also this game is the hardest I find, the jumps are sticky and the lives are low and you easily die.

lion-king-01

You have no points system, your goal is to complete the level without dying. You can jump on enemies or roar at them then jump on them – you can collect “bugs” as well, this helps towards your life. To the left top you have your “roar” meter, this runs low when you use your roar but does build back fast!

38596-lion_king_the_world-5tlk-snes_21

The game also has mini-games that feature Timone and Pumbaa, where you collect bugs as they drop the the sky. Overall fun but very frustrating!

You can play the game for free here (ignore the screen that says to type a word, just press enter)

Disney’s Hercules Game

ONE OF MY FAVOURITE GAMES WAS THE HERCULES GAME! This game was amazing, it’s more than a simple side-scroller! The game has lots of amazing 3d elements from birds to even letting Herc moves forwards and backwards away from the player in the levels. The game is amazing, I can’t say it enough.

maxresdefault.jpg

You play has Herc and start off on Phills training grounds, then you make your way to Thebes and defeat Hades! The only negative thing is the ending isn’t dramatic. Lots of your favourite characters make an appearance, and throughout the game you have Phil yelling famous lines at you – mainly GET YOUR SWORD! The game is easy to pick up, lots of enemies and lots and lots of jumping!

hercules-1

Later in the game you even fly on Pegasus to help defeat Hades! The game is visually amazing and the sounds are perfect! I highly recommend you play, it’s so fun and amazing for 1997! One of my favourites and even a family favourite too, my parents have played it when I was younger to help me in levels or even for themselves and they love it too!

disneys-hercules-ps1-2

The more you play the more you level up and gain perks from a Lighting Sword and better strength – you also collect coins, Herculade for health and even Herc-dolls! There’s also secret level passwords so if you want to start later in the game you can.

hercules-3

I can’t find an online version but you can safely download it from here – read the instructions on how to install! (Controls are Z-Jump, X-Sword and hold for special, C-General Punch, D-Super Punch, S-change weapon, Left/Right and then Up/Down for front and back, Space-menu)

So that’s all I have for now! Stay tuned for Part 2 of my favourite classic Disney Games!

Laura, x

Leave a Reply

