My Beauty and the Beats (2017) REVIEW (Spoiler heavy!)

Hello all,

So today I bring you a “review” of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast 2017 – I’m not very good at writing reviews so please bare with me!

So I saw the movie last night (19th March) a few days after it’s release. Now before I start I want to say that before I saw the movie I wasn’t sure where my expectations where – I LOVE Beauty and the Beast, it ties with second place with Aladdin as my favourite Disney movies. I love it so much that seeing they were doing a remake made me both angry, happy, concerned and overall – OMG!

Seeing and hearing the trailers kept these feelings the same, I was the trailers and cried and then heard Emma Watson sing and cried for the wrong reasons. I love the cast they picked (except Emma) and I couldn’t doubt Disney. I love the remakes of Cinderella and Jungle Book, so I was optimistic. But at the same time, I was hoping they wouldn’t rely solely on the fabulous music. I’ll come back to that later.

So I want to start with the good and I REALLY did enjoy the movie, there were plenty of things that I really didn’t like but some of the changes I was okay with.

ANOTHER WARNING FOR THOSE WHO DIDN’T READ THE TITLE, SPOILERS AHEAD!

So I’m not sure how to get into this, I am, btw, listening to the soundtrack as I type to keep my thoughts magical and fresh! I might do bullet points as they pop into my head, so please again bare with me.

Singing – So yes the singing would be a major factor for the movie, I really did enjoy everyone’s singing but not Emma Watson, her voice wasn’t “Belle” and I know shes not “the Belle” but it was very weak for my personal taste. I’m not still 100% with Luke Evans as Gaston, again I know he’s not “the Gaston” but a stronger deeper voice would have been better, but saying so he still did a fantastic job. Emma Thompson singing the title song was JUST AS GOOD AS THE ORIGINAL! Even with the cockney accent, it was soft and had warmth and love. Ewan McGregor’s French accent had be tickled from the first trailer – so I was worried about it in the singing but I KNOW he’s a FANTASTIC singer (Moulin Rogue people! WATCH IT!) And I didn’t have my doubts. But the song still had the uplifting spirit. Obviously Audra MacDonald was perf!

Story – the story was the same but different. I didn’t like bits like Gaston going out with Belle’s father and the magical book scene (see below) along with the Enchantress saving Belles father, it seemed like rather random scenes – I preferred in the original when Belle saves her father. The flow did go well and kept up with a good pace, nothing was lingering too much and it was a good amount of action, music and love.

Music – need I say anything? It’s the best.

Songs – the new songs were so beautiful, I know they wanted a more of a emotional tone for their longing, but I do like the comical nature of Human Again – it still gets the same message across. But don’t get me wrong, I love it. Beast’s Evermore OMG in the cinema I was taken aback, I was slack-jawed and wanted to stand up and clap my heart out. It was beautiful and magical – showing Beasts true feelings. Magical.

Characters – so the characters all where the same but different, Belle was more head-strong than original, Maurice more sad and not as quirky, Gaston wasn’t as a brute and more charmasic, LaFou was perfect, Beast was easily to fall in love with – he seemed more human than in the original and that was a good change, he wanted his life back, original Beast didn’t seem to give that off too much? Lumiere was better than the original in my opnion, he wanted to get more done and pushed more, Cogsworth was the same – broody and moody, Mrs Potts seemed more lovable and seemed more motherly, she loves Chip with her life and seemed to be more realistic that they “made their bed and peace with what’s happened”. The extra characters like Madame Garderobe and Maestro Cadenza where a nice and light-hearted addition to the cast. Plumette… why was she even there?

Things that bugged me-

Beast reading – I understand that they needed a common interest between Belle and Beast, so reading had to be it, I did like that HOWEVER! I loved the extra scene from Human Again where Belle teaches him to read – but again, adds more questions of “why doesn’t he know how to read” and all that. So that point is 50/50, could have been romantic and relationship building, but it was nice they could talk about books.

Plumette flying – Why does she get to fly? She’s a duster, brush, thing… I know she looks like a bird but wtf?

Ageing vs time standing still – SO I might have not realised this and passed over it in the movie, but we learn of Mr Potts and Cogsworth’s wife – did they age a few years? Did the main characters age in their cursed state? How long were they like for? Any answers would be ideal!

So, you’re telling me that Maestro Cadenza and Madame Garderobe COULD have been together? I know she sleeps all the time (why?) but I thought she couldn’t leave the room, I can see he can’t get up the stairs, but they seem to have missed each other but she could have easily left the room and seem him? THAT bugged me.

Enchantress hanging around – Why? She didn’t really need to be there, ALSO, WHY WAS SHE THERE AT THE END? THE MAGIC SHOULD HAVE COME FROM INSIDE THEM NOT FROM HER!

Only one kiss – COM’ON DISNEY! There was only one kiss in Cinderella too – like, they should have kissed again during the end dance. GRRRR!

Magical book scene, should have been between Belle and father – Yeah, again, I know that they needed more scenes to establish a connection between Belle and Beast, but I think it would have been lovely when Belle and her father are trapped for him to tell her the truth about her mother. The magical book was just random and completely unnecessary in my opinion.

The CGI didn’t look good during Be Our Guest – Personally the overall CGI of the movie wasn’t as good as I wanted, sure I’m probably getting used to the looks, with my animation background and all that, but lots of Be Our Guests just didn’t seem convincing…

The servants transformation scene was crap – Again the animation and CGI seemed to be lacking, they used rubbish camera spins and tricks to have them go from CGI to human in seconds. I thought for Disney, it was rather unacceptable.

Really wanted Gaston to scream Belle is mine – So in the animation, Gaston screams “Belle is mine!” but in this, he didn’t. He didn’t seem to be bothered by Belle in the end, he just wanted to kill the Beast. I thought he was obsessed with Belle, obviously not in the end.

Too many faffing scenes, like the gold on the ballgown – Yeah, lots of “time fillers” like when the gold is brought down from around the room and placed onto her ballgown – it served no purpose to the story or anything – it was filling in time that didn’t need to be filled in. I was getting impatient over a few seconds, yes that’s petty, but every second counts. Other scenes like in Be Our Guest with Mrs Potts on the water fountain… I pick up on things like that coz I’m weird.

Beast death with his eyes open…. Wtf?!  – SERIOUSLY WHAT THE HELL? THIS IS A KIDS MOVIE AND HIS EYES ARE WIDE OPEN?! I know it’s technically correct when we die, eyes stay open, but Jesus that was WAY too much!

Belle in her room – yes she did try and escape out the window, but I feel like she would have just left and said “F*CK YOU BEAST” she kinda did the original, one minute she’s in her room then shes downstairs in the kitchen. She was (i think) piratically dragged by Lumiere. I think, I don’t really remember that bit.

Okay I’m done. I might see it again in the cinema and this might all be different but first impressions, this is my thoughts!

Laura, x

Leave a Reply

